Portable Superior Garden Studio

Unique 25 Year Guarantee

Truly Zero Maintenance

No Deposit Required

john burnside author

John Burnside is an acclaimed author who now does all his writing in a Booths Garden Studio. Alex was actually on the installation and didn't connect that it was John since Johns wife had ordered his garden studio. It was only when Alex got talking to John that he realised he had read, and was a big fan, of his writing. 

john burnside

Renowned for the grittiness and realism of his books, John has won many awards for his writing and poetry.

He is one of only two poets (the other being Sean O'Brien) to have won both the T. S. Eliot Prize and the Forward Poetry Prize for the same book (Black Cat Bone).

He studied English and European Thought and Literature at Cambridge College of Arts and Technology. A former computer software engineer, he has been a freelance writer since 1996.

His first collection of poetry, The Hoop, was published in 1988 and won a Scottish Arts Council Book Award.

Other poetry collections include Common Knowledge (1991), Feast Days (1992), winner of the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize, and The Asylum Dance (2000), winner of the Whitbread Poetry Award and shortlisted for both the Forward Poetry Prize (Best Poetry Collection of the Year) and the T. S. Eliot PrizeThe Light Trap (2001) was also shortlisted for the T. S. Eliot Prize.

His 2011 collection, Black Cat Bone, was awarded The Forward Prize and the T.S. Eliot Prize.

John is also the author of a collection of short stories, Burning Elvis (2000), and several novels, including The Dumb House (1997), The Devil's Footprints, (2007), Glister, (2009) and A Summer of Drowning, (2011).

His multi-award winning memoir, A Lie About My Father, was published in 2006 and its successor, Waking Up In Toytown, in 2010.

His short stories and feature essays have appeared in numerous magazines and journals, including The New YorkerThe Guardian and The London Review of Books, among others. He also writes an occasional nature column for New Statesman. In 2011 he received the Petrarca-Preis, a major German international literary prize.

Johns work is inspired by his engagement with nature, environment and deep ecology.[2] His collection of short stories, Something Like Happy, is now available.